RSS

Pumpkin Pie Porridge

07 Nov

 

Ugh, iPod photos never turn out right


I actually stole this recipe from this blog here. However, I suppose I altered it a bit to my personal preference, and let me tell you, it was delicious. I mean it; it tasted exactly like autumn would if God Himself decided to take a bite of one of our seasons. Plus it’s oh-so super simple, and a great way to use up any pumpkin you have leftover from baking (it stores actually very well in the fridge, uncovered, in it’s can).

Just FYI: the original blog-post recipe calls for your own cooked pumpkin, and pumpkin pie spice. I had neither, so I guess you’re all stuck with my recipe šŸ˜‰ Also, I changed the name of the recipe to Pumpkin Pie Porridge in replacement of Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal, the reason for this being my granddad, the main influence in everything I do and live for, is English. He lived there until he was about 20-something; after WWII he came all the way over here to Canada, had my daddy, who then had me and… well… long story short, I find it really very irritating when people refer to the dish as oatmeal, when it should be porridge.

Pumpkin Pie Porridge
Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp margarine ( I know, it’s not healthy or natural or whatnot, but I find butter SOĀ unappealingĀ and nasty… you can use butter, ghee or whatever you want )
  • pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup water ( it’ll look like a lot, but really, it isn’t )
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small pot over medium heat, and stir together until all are combined. Continue stirring for about 5 minutes, or until mixture reaches desired consistency. Top with just a sprinkle of pure brown sugar, and scrape every little bit out of the bowlĀ eat, savouring the pure fall flavours.
Nutrition Facts
Calories 94; Fat 3g; Carbs 16g; Protein 3g; Sodium 24mg;Ā FibreĀ 3g; Sugar 1g; Vitamin A 45%; Vitamin C 3%; Calcium 3%; Iron 4%
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 7, 2011 in Breakfast, Low-Cal, Quick&Easy

 

Leave a Comment:

 
