RSS

Baked Eggs with Meat, Basil & Tomatoes

09 Nov


This is probably… the best thing I have ever eaten, in my life.
I actually stumbled across a baked eggs recipe online a few weeks ago. Not knowing what it was, I asked my dad (who, if you don’t know, is a phenomenal cook and is always reading about new cooking techniques, ingredients and recipes). Surprisingly, he didn’t know either, but he looked it up in one of his cookbooks (The Cook’s Bible by Christopher Kimball, to be exact) and sure enough, there it was.
So… I did what any aspiring cook would do and I made it. And it turned out terrific. I can’t put enough emphasis on it. It’s so good. Even my dad liked it, however, the recipe we’d been looking at called for bacon. And since I don’t eat any kind of fatty meats, that was an explicit no-no. Now, what I used to substitute may sound odd or gross, but I fried up some oven-roasted Tofurky slices (in olive oil, of course!), because even though I’m not a vegetarian, I have a love for tofu-based fake meats. Anyways, back to my dad… he didn’t like it. I mean, he didn’t hate it, but he actually had to give it to me, because I am 100% against food-wasting. But, of course, you can substitute my substitute with any reduced-fat or -sodium lunch/deli meat you want, and it. is. delicious.

Baked Eggs with deli Meat, Basil & Tomatoes
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 extra-large eggs
  • 2 slices preferred deli meat
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 large, ripe tomato, cut into 1″ squares
  • 4 basil leaves, roughly torn
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 250*F. Bring about 6 cups of water (give or take) to a boil. Butter (I used margarine) 2 small ramekins. Fry [meat] in olive oil, 3mins per side.
  2. Fit [meat] in ramekins, then break 2 eggs into each one. Season only slightly with salt and pepper.
  3. Tear 2 basil leaves into each ramekin, then add tomato cubes (even distribution! Sharing is caring!).
  4. Place ramekins in a small roasting pan & pour boiling water around them, creating a water bath. The water level should be about even with the top of the eggs in the ramekins.
  5. Bake for about 45-48 min, or until whites are set but yolks are soft. Serve immediately. I would suggest using a spoon rather than a fork like we did when eating, as you can still break up the meat with your spoon, and it helps when you gather up all the whites at the end of your meal. And they’re the best part!
Approx. 215 cals per serving
 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Baking, Dinner, Low-Cal

 

One response to “Baked Eggs with Meat, Basil & Tomatoes

  1. Aunti Sue

    November 11, 2011 at 11:41 AM

    looks delish. make some for me the next time you are here 🙂

     

Leave a Comment:

 
