RSS

Layered Autumn Porridge

19 Nov

Don’t hate me!

I know… It’s been almost a week since I last posted! I swear I’m not lazy, but I just haven’t found the time to cook at all, not to mention I’ve been working on my food photography abilities (I have none.).
I finally found the time yesterday, however, to capture the taste of autumn (once again in the form of porridge…) In a delightful breakfast even my dad thought looked and sounded pretty good. Enough to ask me when I got home from school what it was I’d had for breakfast.
Please don’t be upset at the lack of a picture. I’m away from home right now, and I’ve been using my parents’ digital camera to improve my desperately in need of improvement photography.

I absolutely adore the way this turned out. I’ve had a love for applesauce since the day I was born (and I constantly substitute it for butter in recipes!), so when my dad casually mentioned he had picked some unsweetened stuff up, I resisted my urge to down the entire jar and spread some on top of my creation. If you wanted, you could play around with the other ingredients, too, and tweak it towards your personal preference. I just love the way cinnamon and vanilla compliment each other, but you could use any fall-spice such as nutmeg, cloves or ginger… But I’m not so sure about replacing the vanilla.

Layered Autumn Porridge
Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup water, or more, depending on how thick you like your porridge
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon, more or less to taste, plus a sprinkle mire for garnish
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract, more or less to taste
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • Splash of milk, dairy or non-dairy, optional
  • Method
    1) Combine oats and water in a small bowl or ramekin. Microwave on high for 45 seconds.
    2) Remove from microwave and cover oats with a layer of cinnamon, then drizzle vanilla overtop. Microwave for 10 more seconds on high.
    3) Spread layer of cold applesauce over your porridge. Microwave once again on high for 45-55 seconds. Serve with a splash of cold milk, soy or other, and enjoy.

     
    1 Comment

    Posted by on November 19, 2011 in Breakfast, Low-Cal, Microwave, Vegan

     

    One response to “Layered Autumn Porridge

    1. A Tablespoon of Liz

      November 19, 2011 at 10:17 AM

      This looks so good! A perfect breakfast for a chilly fall morning. And I’m with you on the no food photography skills…and sometimes I’m just so hungry that I don’t even want to take a picture, I just want to dig in right away!

       

    Leave a Comment: