RSS

Never, ever again

21 Nov

20111121-185554.jpg

Yeah… This is what happened when I tried to make pancakes. I ended up eating them half-burnt, half-batter. Great.
I’m not entirely sure where I went wrong… There are a variety of places…

  • I didn’t grease the skillet
  • I had no baking soda, and so subbed extra baking powder
  • I flipped the first ones (or attempted to) much, much too soon
  • I didn’t beat the egg whites to stiff peaks like was called for
  • If anyone has any vegan (I know I’m not, but I just adore vegan recipes!), low-cal, whole wheat pancake recipes for one, they’d be VERY much appreciated 🙂 Thanks!

     
    2 Comments

    Posted by on November 21, 2011 in Breakfast, Information

     

    2 responses to “Never, ever again

    1. champa

      December 3, 2011 at 11:30 AM

      Cai,
      I have many pancake recipes on my blog. Some are vegan, some aren’t. If you sub baking soda with baking powder, you have to use for 1/4 tsp baking soda = 1 tsp baking powder. Because Baking powder is 1 tsp baking powder = 1/4 tsp baking soda+1/4 tsp cream of tartar + 1/2 tsp corn starch. If you don’t balance the equation, results won’t be good.

       
      • CaitlinsHealth

        December 3, 2011 at 11:34 AM

        Thanks Champa,
        That’s actually really helpful. I’ll be sure to keep that in mind next time I attempt to make pancakes! And I’ll definitely head on over to your blog to check out some recipes 🙂 Thanks again, and have a great day!

         

    Leave a Comment:

         
