RSS

Slow-Cooker Chicken Stew

01 Dec

I apologize (I do that alot) for not posting for quite a while. I’ve been completely wrapped up in grade 8 homework assignments, and then I had to skip school yesterday because I was really sick. Don’t worry though, I feel much better today 🙂

When you’re sick, all you really want is chicken soup, right? Unless, of course, you’re vegetarian/vegan, but don’t you still long for the hot, soothing broth, and just-tender veggies? Of course you do, it’s the ultimate comfort food. I threw all my ingredients in my slow-cooker this morning before heading off to school, then when I got home I cooked and added my chicken, but I really don’t think it matters. It’s healthy, hearty and oh-so delicious!

Slow-Cooker Chicken Stew
Serves about 9

  • 1 cup carrots, coarsely chopped (I actually used baby)
  • 1 cup celery, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tomato, cut up into small-medium chunks
  • 1 cup peas (mine were canned)
  • 8 cups chicken stock (I didn’t have enough stock, so I used 4 cups of stock to 4 cups of water, but I bet it would be alot better this way!)
  • 1 whole red onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 sprigs rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp thyme, devided into two 1/4 tsp
  • 2-3 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (I had a half of a leftover breast in the fridge which I heated up, and 2 more which I cooked just prior to throwing into the soup)
  • 2 cups chicken stock or water
  1. Combine the first 9 ingredients in the Slow-Cooker (only 1 sprig of rosemary and 1/4 tsp thyme) and cook for 8 hours on low (4 hours on high).
  2. When you have only about 30 mins remaining, place chicken in a heavy-bottomed saucepan and cover with broth (or water) and the remaining herbs. Cover and bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat to a gentle simmer and cook for 10 minutes, then turn the heat off and allow the chicken to sit in the hot stock for 15 minutes more.
  4. Puree 2 cups of your soup in a blender, or less if you like a chunky soup. Return to Slow-Cooker.
  5. Chop chicken into bite-size chunks (or however big you’d like) and add to the Slow-Cooker. Enjoy immediately, or wait about an hour, leaving the Slow-Cooker on “warm”.
  6. ENJOY!
    Image

    This is how the soup looked BEFORE being pureed/chicken added.

    Image

    AFTER being pureed, but before the chicken

    Image

    The final result, after puree and chicken! Yummy!

 

Leave a Comment:

 
